Huskermat Site    Main Forum Page    Huskermat BBS  Hop To Forum Categories  Open Discussion (free)    NWI, I need some clarification?

Moderators: Red Rocker

Read-Only Read-Only Topic
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
NWI, I need some clarification? Login/Join

<Razer>
posted   Report This Post  
I was reading the thread below about the Millard South coach and I am pretty new to Nebraska. What is the "Headlock" publication, and what does that have to do with the NWI? I am pretty interested in what's being talked about, but have no clue what Hawk is talking about. Can you give me a little history lesson? Thanks in advance.
<editor>
It was the first publication about Nebraska wrestling. Coach Denson did it for 5 years...funded it, ran articles, sent wrestling certificates, compiled all 4 class rankings, covered the college scene...it was a low scaled version of a wrestling magazine. It was not an internet magazine, but it was the model for which to develop from!
Many kids and adults enjoyed the paper! I know I sent my 10 bucks in every year! It was a great effort to cover wrestling!
Rookie
Picture of grapplinman
posted   Hide PostReport This Post  
HI GUYS - Looks like there is a lot of questions and opinions in the good ole forum. Well, I thought I would put my two cents worth on THE HEADLOCK and then let Mike tell how it came to be in his hands:

In 1983, Tim Neumann came out with the Original Headlock (long before we were frollicking through the WEB), and it was awesome. Tim published several issues which were done professionally. However, he lost over 10 grand in the operation.